How do I use the auto-lock feature?

Everything you need to know about the auto-lock feature in Exodus Desktop and Exodus Web3 Wallet.

The auto-lock feature is not two-factor authentication (2FA) alternative. Please read the full guide to understand this feature in detail. For 2FA-like protection of your funds, we recommend that you use a hardware wallet.


In this article:


How do I use the auto-lock feature on Web3 Wallet?

How does the auto-lock feature work?

When using the Exodus Web3 Wallet, the wallet will lock and require your password after a certain period of inactivity. In the settings, it is possible to adjust the auto-lock timer.

1
Open the Exodus Web3 Wallet, a) click the Profile icon, then b) click Security.

2
Click Set Auto-Lock.

3
Here you can set the time for when the wallet will lock after a period of inactivity. To set the time, a) enter how long you want it to take before the wallet auto-locks. b) To save any changes, click Save.

How do I manually lock my wallet?

See this guide to find out how you can lock the Exodus Web3 Wallet manually: How do I log out from Exodus?


How do I use the auto-lock feature on Desktop?

How does the auto-lock feature work?

With the auto-lock feature, you can choose to have your wallet automatically lock after a selected amount of time. By default, this function is not enabled, but you can easily access it through the Security menu in the Settings tab of your Exodus wallet.

Choose from the following auto-lock time options:

  • 5 minutes
  • 15 minutes
  • 30 minutes
  • 1 hour
  • 2 hours
  • The default is Off

When the auto-lock feature is active, your wallet will automatically lock after the duration you selected. So if you set it to lock after 30 minutes, your wallet will prompt you to enter your password again if you try to send funds, make an exchange, or view private information 30 minutes after opening your wallet.

This does not change how incoming transactions and price updates are displayed - these will continue to function even when the wallet is locked. When locked, your wallet is in read-only mode. You can view all your asset balances; however, sending and exchanging will not be possible until the wallet is unlocked.

How do I manually lock my wallet?

If you are actively using your wallet, and want to lock it without waiting for the auto-lock to kick in, you can click the lock toggle in the top right corner of your Exodus wallet.


How does this work behind the scenes?

When your wallet is locked, your wallet files are re-encrypted to make it impossible to make any outgoing transactions (e.g. sending or exchanging), view your 12-word secret recovery phrase, or view your private keys. When you enter your password to unlock your wallet, your wallet's files are decrypted to allow you to send transactions and see your private information again.

Locking the wallet will not affect incoming transactions.

This auto-lock protects against unauthorized access to your wallet when the wallet is open and in use. It's an increased security measure, but it does not replace the need for protecting your computer from malicious attacks. For more information about increasing the security of your computer and protecting your blockchain assets see this article: How do I keep my money safe?

It's important to note that this auto-lock feature is not the same thing as 2FA. To learn more about why 2FA isn't available in local applications such as Exodus, be sure to check out our article on the topic: Does Exodus support 2FA?

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.